ABL Honors Retailers of the Year at Annual Meeting

American Beverage Licensees (ABL) recognized outstanding bar and package liquor store owners from across the country as ABL Retailers of the Year at the ABL Annual Meeting in New Orleans in July.  Nominated by their state licensed beverage associations for excellence in advocacy, commitment to responsible sales and service practices, community engagement, and support of their state association, these leaders are ambassadors of the vibrant retail alcohol marketplaces found in states throughout the country.

“The Retailer of the Year Awards provide ABL with an opportunity to honor our members – those individuals who serve as the face of the beverage alcohol industry to customers,” said ABL Executive Director John Bodnovich.  “After the last two years, we know how important they are in their communities and the role they play in keeping the social fabric of our country intact.”

Whether operating on-premise bars or taverns, or off-premise beer, wine and liquor stores, these business owners are fitting examples of American entrepreneurship and the small businesses that create jobs that power the economy.

Due the COVID-19 pandemic, and the cancellation of in-person ABL Annual Meetings in 2020 and 2021, this year ABL recognized Retailers of the Year from 2020, 2021 and 2022.

The 2020 ABL Retailers of the Year include:

  • Adam Blau | The Liquor Box | Independence, KY
  • Doug Bryant | Sherlock’s | Marietta, GA
  • Marshele Burgess | Rip’s Country Inn | Bowie, MD
  • Judd Campbell | The Historic Wolf Hotel and Restaurant | Saratoga, WY
  • Steve Conrad | Conrad’s Saloon | Ashkum, IL
  • Joe Hobbs | High Note Liquors | Nashville, TN
  • Johnny Hudson & Jennifer Elliott | Catch 22 Bar | Tuscaloosa, AL
  • Deanna Johnson | Fowler Liquors | Fowler, IN
  • David LiSacchi | Midnight Liquors | Tonawanda, NY
  • Massachusetts Retailer Plaintiffs in the 2020 Ballot Initiative Lawsuit | Massachusetts Package Stores Association | Westborough, MA
  • Justine Palmer | The Pour House/Midtown Tavern | Bozeman, MT
  • Jay Patel | Liquor at Ovation | Davenport, FL
  • Roshan Patel | C-Mart Spirits | Northport, AL
  • Brad Schinke | Kamps Bar & Grill | Combined Locks, WI
  • Jimmy Spiropoulos | Town Center Market | Riverdale, MD
  • Scott Sturgeon | Party Stop, Inc. | Amarillo, TX


The 2021 ABL Retailers of the Year include:

  • Jennifer Collison | Local Folks | Burlington, WI
  • Neal Pascale | Pascale’s Liquors | Liverpool, NY
  • Robert Selby | Kappy’s Fine Wine & Spirits | Everett, MA
  • Henry Tucker | Tuckers’ Southside Package & Lounge | Lakeland, FL
  • Kent Wiese | The Corner Keg | Highland, IL


The 2022 ABL Retailers of the Year include:

  • Stacy Barr & Mark Barr | Big Mike’s | Big Spring, TX
  • Marshele Burgess | Rips’s Country Inn | Bowie, MD
  • Judd Campbell | Hotel Wolf | Saratoga, WY
  • Meghan Cimini-Jones | Yankee Spirits | Sturbridge, MA
  • Connie Cornmesser | Hey Bryan’s | East Moline, IL
  • David Dean | Friendship Package | Opp, AL
  • Don Mjelde | Richard Crainiums | Green Bay, WI
  • Mark Notarius | Premium Wine & Spirits | Williamsville, NY
  • Gary Reckers | Top Shelf Liquors | Milton, GA
  • Travis Scheidt | Cork Liquors | Columbus, IN
  • Neal Simms & The Simms Family | B&S Liquors | Panama City, FL
  • Jeff Sirkin | Gallette’s | Tuscaloosa, AL
  • Jimmy Spiropoulos | Town Center Market | Riverdale, MD


ABL congratulates all of the honored businesses and licensees for their outstanding and continued contributions to their communities and the beverage alcohol the industry.